To Read List 2017

Is it just me or does it not feel like we’re only 2 weeks into 2017? Not that I’m complaining about having enough time to do all the stuff I want or getting a shit load of stuff done in the new year already… but, new year’s eve was like what, about 2 weeks ago??! Someone save me from all that productivity going on! Something has to be wrong with me… Well, I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

So, now that we’ve got my totally off-topic monologue out of the way, let’s get to the purpose of this post. I’m gonna present to you “my to read list for 2017”. Isn’t almost everyone’s new year’s resolution “to read more”? I gotta admit, I’m the kind of person who made that their 2015 resolution and is still talking about it instead of actually doing it. But, I feel like I got a lot better towards the end of 2016. I read everyday, even if it was just a paragraph, and now I am reading a reasonable amount of pages each day.

I finally got back into reading and I’m still striving towards the same level of joy that I got out of it as a kid. It’s going pretty good, right? So, my resolution for 2017 is to keep that up. What’s better to motivate yourself than a huge book pile that you really, really want to read very soon just to buy even more books of course. Maybe you’ll get inspired by this post to get back into reading too or add a few things to your own reading list. So, let’s go ahead and talk about a geek’s best friend, shall we?

.


.

Sherlock Holmes.jpeg

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

I did read some Sherlock Holmes stories before, but when I came across this copy I just had to get it. These so called “Word Cloud Classics” are some of the most beautiful books I have ever seen! You’re gonna see some more later in this post. Aside from the pretty cover of course, it’s about what’s inside the book, right?

I love classics in general, so when I came across these in my local bookstore, I immediatly checked which classic novels they provide and let me tell you, it’s a classic-bookworms dream. The Sherlock Holmes stories I read before were either in German or an audio book, but I always planned on reading some in English. Now it’s on my list for 2017!

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

J.M. Barrie – Peter Pan

These are some other really beautiful copies of some classic children books actually. They’re called “Puffin Chalk” and are somehow related to Penguin Classics. I also spotted them at my local bookstore and immediatly fell in love. Sadly, I already owned a not as pretty copy of Alice in Wonderland which looked really cool too, but I got the two books above instead.

I, for some reason, never really planned on reading Peter Pan… I know that it was originally a play before it even became a book, so I guess I never thought it would make sense to read the book or something… I don’t even know. But, what I do know is that I will not regret buying this anyway. It’s on my list for 2017!

.

L. Frank Baum – The Wizard of Oz

Ok, I planned on reading this book! It’s a classic so what’s the point in talking about the plot when everyone already knows the story for the most part? All I can say is that it’s another classic and a really pretty-looking copy and I’m so glad I discovered these, can anyone feel me???

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Edgar Allan Poe – Complete Tales and Poems

Ok, I just realized that there’s a shit load of classics on this list… Don’t worry a few modern boods are coming, but I just really love classics and I kinda feel like I gotta catch up with history first, ya know?

So, Poe… Do you see how freakin thick that book is, holy smokes?! It’s not on my list to read it completely in 2017. I’m not crazy. But I’ve actually had this book for a little while now and I read like two poems and that’s it. I’m determined to read this whole book because I genuily want to. Although, for 2017 I’m planning on reading just a little bit of it here and there between other books to keep things interesting and because I have so many other books on my to read list too!

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Stephen King – Salem’s Lot

Ah, who can say no to a good old Stephen King? I know I can’t. When I walk into a bookstore whithout a specific book in mind and just to “look around a little”, I usually walk back out with a Stephen King under my arm. Well, there is a lot to choose from because that man wrote a lotta books (and I’m far away from having read all of them which I’m kinda planning on)!

So, for 2017 I have this one on my reading list. Stephen King, a misterious little town and vampires. What else would you need? I’m sure it’s gonna be good because I really love his style of writing. I noticed that sometimes the author’s writing style is what makes me keep coming back for more, sometimes even more that the actual story. But, with a Stephen King book you get both!

.

Bram Stoker – Dracula

Yep, one more classic and one more pretty pretty copy. I have a problem, help. There’s really not much to say about this one. It’s always been on my list and I love vampires. (yes, since before Twilight was a thing and I prefer the actual blood-sucking kind over the vegetarian wimps, aside from that, do you have eyes? Even I was so Team Werwolf for that movie!)

I get the feeling 2017 is gonna be the year that I read all the books that were always on my list and I’m okay with that!

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Robert Louis Stevenson – The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Also a kinda classic novel. Jekyll and Hyde is actually more than just a book or story. It’s present in pop culture and a motif often used in other stories or on TV or the media etc.

That’s the reason I was always interested in reading it, everybody knows what you’re talking about when you mention Jekyll and Hyde but I bet not so many people actually read the original story. But it’s on my list for 2017 now and at the end ot this year I will hopefully not make a reference to this legendary book anymore without being able to tell you the whole original story!

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Joël Dicker – The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair

My aunt gave me this book for my birthday in 2016 so it naturally made its way onto my reading list for this year. The summary sounds promising. The book’s about an author whose wife has been missing for a long time but then she reappears as a corpse in his backyard… I’m looking forward to reading this and changing up my classic-based reading routine (just a little).

.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Mary Shelley – Frankenstein

Phew, that was close, now back to the classics. If you read Dracula you read Frankenstein, easy as that.

It’s another classic horror story and I think it’s the same as with Jeckyll and Hyde, lots of people roughly know the plot but at the end of 2017, I’ll be one of the few people who actually read it.

.

Charles Dickens – Great Expectations

I just read A Christmas Carol in 2016 and just as I explained earlier, his writing style made me come back for more (but also the story in this case).

I wanted to try and read another non-christmas-themed novel by Charles Dickens and I wanted to know more of his work than just his most famous story. I plan on doing that in 2017.

.


.

.

I have great expectations for the last one… hahaha… alright, I’m gonna go now and spend 2017 in a cave filled to the brim with classic literature. Don’t let them put you in a box, ok, bye. \m/

.

.

.

Care for some background music while reading?

Follow me on spotify for some awesome playlists for every occasion!

.

Need some motivation to make your 2017 resolutions happen?

To Read List 2017 - blog post by SYSTEM ERROR - reading, relax, new year, resolutions, read more, books, novel, stories, classics, pages

Leave a Reply

