The Live Experience: 5 Seconds of Summer

I wanted to start this new thing where I tell you about concerts I’ve been to and my experience of seeing certain bands live. I decided to call it “The Live Experience” because I don’t want it to be an average review or make it feel like a school essay (let’s be real they’re neither fun to write nor read). I prefer to tell you a story. So, this happened. Enjoy and leave a comment if you wanna see more posts like this!

.


.

06/07/2016 – Mannheim, Germany – 5 Seconds of Summer – Sounds Live Feels Live

My friend and I arrive at the SAP Arena on time. We walk over to the entrance that’s printed on our tickets. There’s a long, but not too long line of people already waiting. It’s pretty warm outside, it’s been a hot summer. I ask my friend if she thinks they’ll allow you to bring a water bottle because I just remembered that I have one in my purse. She doesn’t know either but as they start letting people in they also check their purses and make you throw away your water bottles. I kinda expected this, so I started to empty mine already. The line moves slowly, giving me enough time to drink up all the water at a comfortable speed.

It’s our turn to show our tickets and open our purses now. The guy asks me if I have any sprays or pepper spray with me. I think, uhm, no? Bitch, who would try to keep 5SOS away from them? Then I throw my now empty water bottle in the nearby bin and walk inside with my friend. No one asked her about pepper spray… Do I look even scarier to people than I thought? I have to admit I went all in with my black eye makeup that day. Oh well, we just laugh about it for a second and then check our tickets to find out which way to go. We have to get to the second floor first.

As we reach the top of the stairs, we immediately start searching for a restroom. My friend just wants to go to prevent possibly missing anything of the show but I just emptied a whole water bottle. You bet your ass I actually have to go. We join the people waiting in line in front of the bathroom door. Great, why do all women always have to pee at the same time? Every time someone comes through the door, the next one in line goes in. We’re actually moving faster than I expected. I notice that there is a piece of paper attached to the door. It has a sign on it that indicates that this is a restroom for women, nothing unusual. But, as I said it’s a piece of paper attached to the door with duct tape. I get the feeling that this is actually a men’s restroom and they just changed the sign on the door because they expected way more women to be here than men. Smart move actually… I’ve mostly seen girls around. That would also explain the long line. We are probably physically unable to use all the toilets this bathroom actually provides…

When my friend and I are finally able to enter the restroom, all my assumptions turn out to be the truth. There’s a long row of urinals and only four stalls. It’s alright, we’re almost there. I meet my friend again at the sink and we then leave the room together. After figuring out which way to go now, we’re headed towards our seats. Once we reach them, we sit down. The arena is still pretty empty. Most people are probably still waiting in line for the restroom… My friend and I chat about the great seats, the other people at the concert and of course how we can’t wait for the show to start. We’re also wondering if there will be a supporting act. It doesn’t say anything on our tickets. Meanwhile the arena is getting fuller. I notice a man sitting in the middle of the arena next to a younger girl. I guess he’s her dad and had to come here because she couldn’t go alone. He’s sitting on his chair, arms crossed, wearing an AC/DC shirt and a baseball cap that hides most of his face. I wonder if that’s his way of protesting…

Finally, the lights dim down and as expected a large crowd of mostly 14-year-olds screaming in surround sound can be loud as hell. For a second I’m convinced I’m deaf. People are entering the stage and even though I thought it was impossible, the screaming gets even louder. My friend and I are unsure if these are the 5SOS members for a moment because you can’t really tell in the current lighting. I notice that the guy stepping in the front is wearing white pants. It’s clear now, these guys cannot be 5 Seconds of Summer, they don’t even own white pants, just black skinny jeans.

.

20160607_195239

.

The lights are finally allowing you to see the stage and no, it’s not 5SOS yet. “So there is a supporting act”, I say to my friend and she agrees. The band name is now displayed on the large screens at the side of the stage: Don Broco. Music starts and they’re surprisingly good actually. The whole crowd is standing. They are playing a song that I think might be called “Jump” cause “jump, jump, jump” is repeated over and over but it’s still pretty good. The lead singer introduces his band and I think he’s pretty good at getting the crowd into party mood. He announces the next song: “Fire”. I turn to my friend and yell in her ear: Let me guess, the chorus’s gonna go like this: fire, fire, fire? We turn our attention back to the stage. The chorus starts, it’s “fire, fire, fire”. My friend and I start laughing hysterically. I’m kinda low-key hoping they’re purposely playing songs that the crowd can catch onto quickly…

When they’re done they say their goodbyes and leave the stage. The lights in the arena go back to normal. Seems we still have to wait a little for the main act. But that gives my friend and me the time to discuss the supporting act. We’re also a little worried because that means that the concert is gonna be longer than we expected and we have school the next day. Oh well, fuck it, 5SOS’s worth the eye bags.

.

20160607_202027

.

This time, when the lights go out, the screaming is even impossibly louder. 5 Seconds of Summer enter the stage and the whole crowd is standing again. The set starts with “Hey Everybody”. After that lead singer Luke introduces the band members. Then, it feels like they’re only really starting. Many songs of the new album “Sounds Good Feels Good” are played. Occasionally they throw in a song from their debut album or songs from an early EP and of course the guys are joking around on stage in between the songs. The band also plays their new song “Girls Talk Boys” from the Ghostbusters movie soundtrack.

.

20160607_204804

20160607_205543

.

The energy is great. The lightshow is awesome. Although most of the people have seats, almost everyone is standing, jumping, clapping and screaming. I’m not a huge screamer usually but when Calum, the bassist, asks: “Are you ready to fucking rock with us?”, he earns himself a “whoo” from me. I’m pro rewarding and encouraging swearing.

.

20160607_213837

.

Then, the moment that at least I waited for: Michael the guitarist, alone on stage, standing in the blue spotlight. We all know what’s next. Still, that little tease keeps talking and interacting with the crowd instead of finally playing the song. Not that I’m complaining. Every time I think he’s finally gonna play the first chord, he delays the beginning again. After all, he’s Michael Clifford, what did we expect? The problem is, I’m trying to record the next song because it’s my favorite and my phone’s memory is already close to being used to capacity from all the pictures I took before. It’s my first concert, I had to! So, I keep recording and then stopping because he’s just talking. Not that I mind but I really wanna catch that song on camera!

.

20160607_212916

.

Of course, I am not recording the second the song actually starts. But, it’s alright, I start like a blink of an eye after that. I soon forget about it when the other members join in and the whole arena sings “Jet Black Heart” whole-heartedly. Way too soon, after a few more songs, the concert ends. The band members say their goodbyes and leave the stage. Ashton, the drummer, actually gets down from the stage and walks by the people standing in front of it. After that, it’s over. The lights go back on and everybody is slowly leaving the arena.

.

20160607_220725

.

My friend and I wait a little and then get up too. We step into the hallway and look for the merchandise shop. We each get a wrist band that says “5SOS Sounds Live Feels Live” and then go back downstairs and outside. My ears are still ringing and my voice is a little hoarse from all the singing and yelling at my friend. My feet are hurting because I stood the whole concert in (almost) high heels even though I had a seat. It’s gotten real late and we will still have to wait a little while for our ride to pick us up. To put it in a nutshell: It was the best night of my life.

.


.

I really hope you like this type of “concert story report”, I wish you many concert experiences in 2017 and don’t let them put you in a box! \m/

.

.

.

More 5 SOS:

5 Seconds of Summer were also part of my blog series “11 Bands for People who want to sell their Soul to Rock ‘n’ Roll”:

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.3 – 5 Seconds of Summer

.

Follow me on spotify for more 5SOS and check out my pinterest!

.

live-5sos-pin

Leave a Reply

