11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.11

Okay, final part is here! I can’t belive we’re already there. Don’t wanna make a big fuss this time. I’ll just say this much: the band I’m about to introduce is also my absolute favorite band ever and they’re taking that selling your soul thing pretty literally. So, watch out!

.

They’re taking that selling your soul thing pretty literally.

click to tweet

.

Find the other parts here: pt.1 – Jake Bugg, pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.3 – 5 Seconds of Summer, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback

.

.

.

Part 11/11: Sell Your Soul To The Pretty Reckless

.

11 bands 1. TPR.JPG

.

The basics

The Pretty Reckless is an American band from New York. The members are lead singer Taylor Momsen, guitarist Ben Phillips, bassist Mark Damon and drummer Jamie Perkins. They released their first record Light Me Up in 2010. The second studio album Going To Hell followed in 2014 and their third record Who You Selling For was just released earlier this year.

.

Who sould sign up for selling their soul?

Any of you who like alternative rock, hard rock or the good old rock ‘n’ roll days, The Pretty Reckless is for you. They also have a grungy touch sometimes and some heavy metal / blues elements.

The band is influenced by Nirvana, The Beatles, Oasis, The White StripesMotörhead, Jimi Hendrix, Metallica and Iron Maiden. Fans of Nickelback, Soundgarden and Smashing Pumpkins should give them a try too!

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

This time the story’s different than usual. And maybe a little embarrassing… but hey, it led me to this fucking awesome band that’s been my favorite ever since and that’s what matters most!

.

This time the story’s different than usual.

click to tweet

.

I just started getting really into YouTube actually and then I came across a makeup tutorial that was a recreation of Taylor Momsen’s signature black eye makeup. I was probably already overusing eyeliner at the time and I was fascinated by this look. Naturally, I had to check out that band. I think the first song that I listened to was My Medicine. I got so into it, I listened to it for days. Then I ordered the album and the rest, as they say, is history.

The Pretty Reckless is very different from all the other bands out there. Their sound is really hard for me to describe because for me it’s just right. You might’ve noticed that they are the only band in this ranking with a female singer. I personally prefer deep manly voices when it comes to rock music. Nonetheless, this band is at the top of the list which means that they must be really, really awesome. Well, they are and I think Taylor Momsen is one of the best rock singers out there, male or female.

.

I think Taylor Momsen is one of the best rock singers out there, male or female.

click to tweet

.

When I discovered their music, I felt like this is what I’ve been unknowingly looking for all my life. That’s why I think no other band or artist will ever be able to overthrow them as my favorite band, this feeling is really rare and I’m so god damn grateful that I found them. Maybe some of you will feel like this too when you check them out. I really hope so.

.

This is the sound that I’ve been looking for all my life.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Must-Have Ablum: Going To Hell (2014)

.

Top 5 songs to get to know The Pretty Reckless:

.

Make Me Wanna Die (Light Me Up)

Going to Hell (Going To Hell)

Take Me Down (Who You Selling For)

House on a Hill (Going To Hell)

The Walls Are Closing In / Hangman (Who You Selling For)

.

.

I really, really hope you enjoyed this series. I’m so thankful for each and every person who read at least one of the parts. Don’t worry there is lots of awesome music and art related stuff coming your way, even though this is the end of an era. It would mean the world to me if you followed my blog so you won’t miss any of it.

I’ll hopefully see you again very soon; this was just the beginning and remember: Don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

.

More The Pretty Reckless:

.

Follow me on Spotify and check out my playlist posts for more The Pretty Reckless.

.

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 11 - The Pretty Reckless (alternative rock/hard rock)

Leave a Reply

