11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.10

The golden number 10 is here! This band, man this band… Let’s say it as it is: They’re fucking awesome but so fucking underrated at the same time. Actually, a lot of people hate this band which I don’t understand one bit. They are freaking awesome and my favorite band ever (with a male singer, sorry guys, you’ll understand by part 11). I think some people hate them just because they hate them.

.

The golden number 10 is here!

click to tweet

.

But as I stated many times before over the course of this series, this is for the open-minded person. If you consider yourself one, you’re welcome to keep reading.

Find the other parts here: pt.1 – Jake Bugg, pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.3 – 5 Seconds of Summer, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

.

I think some people hate them just because they hate them.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Part 10/11: Sell Your Soul To Nickelback

.

11 bands 2. Nickelback.JPG

.

The basics

Nickelback is a Canadian band formed in 1995. They released their very first record Hesher without a record deal and in Canada only. Eight more studio albums followed, the most recent one No Fixed Address being released in 2014.

While working on this series I realized that surprisingly few line up changes have been made for this band; except for the drummer Daniel Adair, all other members have been in the band since the very beginning. Those members are lead singer Chad Kroeger, his step brother and the bassist Mike Kroeger and guitarist Ryan Peake.

Halfway into their No Fixed Address tour, Chad Kroeger had some major issues with his voice box and therefore they had to cancel the remaining concerts (I had tickets, was supposed to be my first concert! I’m sorry for obviouxly jinxing it for everyone else, it’s a known fact that the universe hates me). But he fully recovered, everything’s fine now. They rescheduled and I finally got to attend a Nickelback concert (I might write about my experience soon!).

On top of that, they hinted at some new stuff for 2017! Who’s excited?!

.

They hinted at some new stuff for 2017! Who’s excited?!

click to tweet

.

Who sould sign up for selling their soul?

Anyone who loves some good alternative rock! But don’t you dare making the mistake of thinking Nickelback is the rock-pop-ballad-band you know from the radio. You ain’t heard nothing yet! That’s what I’m here for; no need to worry.

Nickelback’s earlier stuff sounds a lot more grungy than their current work. So, if you’re into grunge, Nirvana (pt.7 of this series), The Melvins, Soundgarden or Alice in Chains, you should definitly check out their 90s post-grunge stuff. (lead singer Chad Kroeger actually hates that term because everything ever coming after grunge could be called post-grunge; I get what he means, their music deserves their own term; it’s like calling all modern rock music post-Elvis)

.

Don’t you dare making the mistake of thinking Nickelback is band you know from the radio.

click to tweet

.

Anyways, fans of fellow hard rock / alternative bands like Creed, Oasis, Foo Fighters, Placebo, Bon Jovi (pt.5 of this series), Radiohead, The White Stripes or 3 Doors Down, should also check out Nickelback.

The band is also influenced by Led Zeppelin and Metallica.

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

I knew their name from the radio and television and apparently I thought they sounded interesting. So, same old story as always: saw their CD in the store, bought it (#neverregret) ! But I have to admit, I was surprised when I got home and played the record. I didn’t really expect anything, not even the typical stuff you heard on the radio and still, they managed to surprise me. Their sound was new to me.

I really don’t get what people’s problem with Nickelback is, but I, to this day, have not found any other band that makes music like that. Isn’t individuality alone already super important and to be respected in the music world anymore? Did I miss somethin?

.

I really don’t get what people’s problem with Nickelback is.

click to tweet

.

Anyhow, I love them. If you only know them from the radio, you don’t know them. And if you think they are no hard rock band, check out the songs I listed below (little extra: pay attention to the lyrics, have fun!).

.

.

.

Must-Have Ablum: Dark Horse (2008)

.

Top 5 songs to get to know Nickelback

.

Midnight Queen (Here And Now)

How You Remind Me (Silver Side Up)

Follow You Home (All The Right Reasons)

Something in Your Mouth (Dark Horse)

Edge of a Revolution (No Fixed Address)

.

.

Stay tuned for the final part of the series this saturday! I’m going to reveal my personal favorite; really hope you’ll come back for it and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

More Nickelback:

.

Follow me on Spotify for all the Nickelback that’s still coming in the future and check out my playlist posts.

.

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 10 - Nickelback (post-grunge/alternative rock)

Leave a Reply

