11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.9

Ok, this time, we’re getting super heavy here. The band I’m about to introduce you to can easily be called the hardest one that’s featured in this series. That might or might not be your thing. I admit, some of their stuff took me a while to get used to but that’s just because I’m usually more an alternative rock kinda person. Still, my music taste ranges from punk rock to heavy metal and when I’m in a metalhead mood, this band is my go-to favorite.

I actually fell for these guys cause at the time I found out about them, I felt like their lyrics were putting my deepest feelings into words. So listen closely and read on!

.

I felt like their lyrics were putting my deepest feelings into words.

click to tweet

.

Find the other parts here: pt.1 – Jake Bugg, pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.3 – 5 Seconds of Summer, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

.

.

.

Part 9/11: Sell Your Soul To Five Finger Death Punch

.

11 bands 3. 5FDP.JPG

.

The basics

Five Finger Death Punch (5FDP) is an American band formed in the early 2000s. Their name is actually a fictional martial arts move from the movie Kill Bill. Their debut album The Way of the Fist was released in 2007; they started gaining success very fast after that. The band’s most recent record Got Your Six was released in 2015.

.

Who sould sign up for selling their soul?

5FDP is a groove metal band with elements of heavy metal, thrash metal, nu metal, rap, hard rock and alternative. Their sound is pretty heavy and there is also some occasional screaming (just a little heads up). So, they are great if you’re already into this kinda stuff.

The members named Pantera, Metallica, Foo Fighters, Faith No More, Alice in Chains, David Bowie and Prince as some of their biggest influences. The band’s also great for you if you like Exhorder, Lamb of God, Anthrax or the heavy side of Nickelback (like me! #ILoveItDealWithIt). They might also be for you if you love rap or hip hop music cause they’re including a lot of those kinda elements in their music too. I guess it just goes really well with their rythm based sound.

.

Their sound is pretty heavy and there is also some occasional screaming (just a little heads up).

click to tweet

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

I’m trying to remember where I could possibly have heard of them but I really can’t. I know that I bought The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell (vol.1) on iTunes to try it out. Just shortly after, I also purchased vol.2. How I even got the idea to look them up, I really can’t tell anymore. One thing I know for sure: I’m so glad I did do all that because I simply love this band.

I love their rythmic sound and the vibe of their music. In contrast to some other metal bands, I never feel like their songs are too one-sided or “flat”, you know what I mean? They have ups and downs, faster parts, slower parts, parts of singing or screaming and even rapping. This band just really knows how to mix all that and make it sound great.

.

This band just really knows how to mix all that and make it sound great.

click to tweet

.

They’re also incredible songwriters. As I stated at the beginning of this post, it really feels as if they put my soul into words. The lyrics are just awesome. I’m really trying to emphasize that here because I feel like especially within that genre of music, the lyrics and the meaning are often overlooked. But you guys know about their great songtexts now, so you won’t do that right?

.

I feel like especially within the metal music genre, the lyrics and the meaning are often overlooked.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Must-Have Ablum: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell (vol.2)

.

Top 5 songs to get to know Five Finger Death Punch:

.

The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell (TWSOHATRSOH vol.1)

Cradle to the Grave (TWSOHATRSOH vol.2)

Battle Born (TWSOHATRSOH vol.2)

Dot Your Eyes (TWSOHATRSOH vol.1)

M.I.N.E. (End This Way) (TWSOHATRSOH vol.1)

.

.

Hope you liked this part (only 2 left to go!), check out the band and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

More 5FDP:

.

.

Follow me on Spotify and check out my playlist posts for more Five Finger Death Punch in the future.

.

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 9 - Five Finger Death Punch (groove metal)

Leave a Reply

