11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.8

Shock rock’s about to shock you! That’s right, shock rock is an actual genre of music. I was surprised the first time I heard that too, even though I was already in love with this artist, I just didn’t really know the genre. But now that I know this term I don’t wanna live life without it ever again, cause let’s be real, it’s the only description that fits.

So, you ready for shock rock? Yeah, no one really is, but you want it anyway. I know you do, don’t deny it, keep reading!

.

Find the other parts here: pt.1 – Jake Bugg, pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.3 – 5 Seconds of Summer, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

.

That’s right, shock rock is an actual genre of music.

 click to tweet

.

.

.

Part 8/11: Sell Your Soul To Alice Cooper

.

11 bands 4. Alice Cooper.JPG

.

The basics

Alice Cooper was an American band formed in the late 1960s. The early 70s marked the end of the band and the start of the lead singer’s solo career. Vincent Damon Furnier officially changed his name to Alice Cooper. The “Godfather of Shock Rock” was born; the rest is rock history.

.

The “Godfather of Shock Rock” was born; the rest is rock history.

click to tweet

.

Who sould sign up for selling their soul?

Shock rock fans already know this: This type of bands usually have like a big show and lots of visual entertainment going on on stage. That’s why they’re labeled as shock rock after all. Alice Cooper often wears a straitjacket, plays with snakes, has his own daughter dressed up like a prostitute on stage or enacts his own beheading. So, if you’re a sucker for horror movies, great! If you already end up in the fetal position during the opening credits of Final Destination, I would still recommend the music but don’t ever look at a live show, for your own sake.

Fans of fellow shock rock/hard rock/metal musicians Frank Zappa, Rob Zombie, Ozzy Osbourne, King Diamond, Marilyn Manson or Lordi might also like Alice Cooper.

Alice Cooper is influenced by The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Yardbirds, The Who, David Bowie and Bob Dylan.

.

If you’re a sucker for horror movies, great!

click to tweet

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

I’ve always loved the song Poison. At some point, I wanted more Alice Cooper and naturally I started looking for an album that included Poison. But I also was a fan of collections like Original Album Classics, because it’s basically a way to get multiple albums of the artist of your interest for a decent price. So, I got myself three Alice Cooper records at once; Trash, Hey Stoopid and The Last Temptation. I LOVE THEM!

I don’t know how you feel about it, but I personally love the 70s. Ever since I watched Tim Burton’s Dark Shadows (bloody great movie, check it out!), in which Alice Cooper also makes an appeariance, I basically want to live in the 70s, preferably in this movie. Sadly, I couldn’t figure out how to do that yet but Alice Cooper’s music actually helps feeling like you’re in a time machine. That way, you can imagine living in the 70s at least for about 54 minutes. Even better, because he’s still active and been all these years, you can also set yourself back to the 80s, 90s and so on! Isn’t that great?.

.

I personally love the 70s.

click to tweet

.

I can’t really explain in detail what it is that makes me love Alice Cooper. But I’m pretty sure he generally attracts people because humans have a natural fascination with the unknown, the extreme and the forbidden. Well, this guy basically sums this all up with music and I am in love with his kinda psychadelic sound.

Also, if the band’s early song School’s Out isn’t on your summer vacation playlist, you’re missing out!

.

If School’s Out isn’t on your summer vacation playlist, you’re missing out!

click to tweet

.

.

.

Must-Have Ablum: Trash (1989)

.

Top 5 songs to get to know Alice Cooper:

.

Poison (Trash)

Hey Stoopid (Hey Stoopid)

School’s Out (School’s Out)

No More Mr. Nice-Guy (Billion Dollar Babies)

Love’s a Loaded Gun (Hey Stoopid)

.

.

Really hope you liked this part, enjoy the shock rock and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

More Alice Cooper:

.

Follow me on 8tracks, check out my Spotify and my playlist posts for more Alice Cooper in the future.

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 8 - Alice Cooper (shock rock)

Leave a Reply

