11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.3

The band we’ll talk about this time is, in my opinion, totally underrated, especially within the rock community. Please, give them a chance; neither judge me nor them to quickly. As I stated in part 1 of this series (11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.1), it’s okay to hate something, but not mindlessly. Trust me, I would not include them in this series if I didn’t think they deserved a spot here.

Okay, enough of that shit. You might’ve guessed the band featured in this part from the sneak peek on my facebook already. I’m only saying this much: Australia strikes again in this part!

.

Find the other parts here: pt.1 – Jake Bugg, pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovipt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

 

.

.

.

Part 3/11: Sell Your Soul To 5 Seconds of Summer

.

SONY DSC

.

The basics

5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) is an Australian punk rock band formed in 2011. Their first record 5 Seconds of Summer was released in 2014. The following year, their second studio album Sounds Good Feels Good followed. Before their breakthrough, they did cover videos on YouTube. They gained international attention when they opened for the boyband One Direction on their tour (yes, I know, I feel ya, let’s just forget about that, ignore that fact and be thankful that they brought us 5SOS, like really what else could we thank One Direction for????).

.

Who should sign up for selling their soul?

Well, they are influenced by all the great punk bands like Green Day, Blink-182, All Time Low, Good Charlotte. So, they’re definitly something for all the punk rock fans among you, but I also think alternative rock fans (Boys Like Girls, Nickelback) might like them.

Even those of you who like stuff like Ed Sheeran or Avril Lavigne should give them a try too because they are doing a kind of radio-friendly punk rock (they’re a second generation punk rock band, yes, nowadays punk can be radio friendly).

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

For a while, every time I went online, whether it was we heart it, instagram or literally anything else, pictures of 5SOS kept popping up. At some point, I was like: Ok, who the fuck is that and why are they always there??? So, I looked them up and headed over to YouTube to check out their stuff. Long story short: I listened to all their songs until 4 am on a school’s night. Yes, it was worth it, that’s how good that band is. Talk about selling your soul…

.

Long story short: I listened to all their songs until 4 am on a school’s night.

click to tweet

.

Next chance I got, I bought their first album 5 Seconds of Summer. I tend to do this thing when listening to a new record: For the first few days, I usually get stuck on one song and then it takes some time until I’m “kinda sick” of it and thereby ready to listen to the rest of the album. Anyone else? I think I already got stuck on She Looks So Perfect here (fiy that’s the first song on the entire thing, damn, that means they are good).

At that time I did not know about that “YouTube-famous” thing or about their “relationship” with One Direction, I just liked their music. I admit, if I did, I probably would’ve been full of predjudice and suspicion. That’s why I think promoting them together with One Direction might’ve been a mistake.

Many People are under the impression that 5SOS is a boyband, which they clearly aren’t. A huge part of their fan base is made up of (former) One Direction fans and girls in general. Most of which don’t even know the name of any other punk rock band. Believe me, I’ve been to one of their concerts before, there are other people, like me, who look and act like they’re just really into that kind of music and while they might only be this far and famous now because of One Direction (at least partly), I think it’s sad that they might not have the fanbase that they actually could have, like people who just love punk rock or are male, ya know?

.

Many People are under the impression that 5SOS is a boyband, which they clearly aren’t.

click to tweet

.

Ok, enough rambling, I hope I made my point clear. Back to the music. Their second album Sounds Good Feels Good is awesome. You can really hear their punk rock influence on this one. I feel like they really found themselves and their function in this world and probably also gained a lot of experience because I’m guessing they’ve seen a lot since their first album.

.

.

.

Must-Have Album: Sounds Good Feels Good (2015)

.

Top 5 songs to get to know 5 Seconds of Summer:

.

Permanent Vacation (Sounds Good Feels Good)

Jet Black Heart (Sounds Good Feels Good)

Good Girls (5 Seconds of Summer)

Castaway (Sounds Good Feels Good)

End Up Here (5 Seconds of Summer)

.

.

I hope you’ll check out their music and enjoy it; remember: Don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

Find them on this playlist:

.

.

Follow me on 8tracks for even more 5SOS in the future.

.

.

Find more 5SOS on my Pinterest:

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) - Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Check it out! 11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock N’ Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 3 – 5 Seconds of Summer (punk rock)

Leave a Reply

