11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.2

Last time, we learned about Jake Bugg (11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.1: Jake Bugg). Now part 2 of this series is finally here!

This band is an absolute classic, a must-try for all rockers and metalheads. If you did not check them out yet… well, why didn’t you? You should! Don’t worry we will do this together, right now. Fasten your seatbelts, get your hair ready to headbang and say goodbye to your soul, cause it’s about to get sold.

.

Find the other parts here: pt.3 – 5SOS, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

 

.

Get your hair ready to headbang and say goodbye to your soul, cause it’s about to get sold.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Part 2/11: Sell Your Soul To AC/DC

.

SONY DSC

.

The basics

AC/DC is an Australian blues-based hard rock band that was formed in 1973. Shortly after their major breakthrough in the late 70s, the band had to deal with a major throwback when lead singer Bon Scott died, while they worked on their 7th studio album Back in Black. Bless the Devil, they did not quit. The band finished the record together with new lead singer Brian Johnson and let me tell you, it was well worth it.

AC/DC has a long and quite impressive history; their influence in the rock ‘n’ roll world is huge. Sadly, it feels as if all that is about to come to an end lately. Multiple lineup changes were made, due to illness, home detention and hearing loss. It’s uncertain what the future holds for the band, but I know they will keep fighting and so should the fans. Go see them live if you can! You never know.

Axl Rose (Guns N’ Roses) recently has been hired full-time as AC/DC’s lead singer. I think he’s doing an awesome job and it’s a great message to the fans. They will continue as long as they can and after all, it’s rock or bust!

.

Who should sign up for selling their soul?

As I mentioned above, they are a blues-based band. So, sign up already blues fans! Obviously, AC/DC is a classic rock band. Most rock’n’roll, hard rock and even metal fans will not be disappointed and find at least something they like about them.

Fans of Guns N’ Roses, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Aerosmith or Van Halen might find a cool song to include in a playlist.

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

I guess AC/DC is just one of these bands that practically everyone has at least heard of. If you’re one of the people that came here because they try to get into rock music, you might know this: When you’re starting to get really into rock ‘n’ roll and start researching and want to check out all the classics that there are and more and even more… at some point you realize, there are a whole lot of bands, you can’t give them all a try all at once. (Trust me, I’ve been through this, but don’t worry, that’s what this guide is for.)

.

I guess AC/DC is just one of these bands that practically everyone has at least heard of.

click to tweet

.

So, for some reason, it took me a while to finally get to AC/DC. Of course, I knew their greatest hits like Hells Bells, Highway to Hell and You Shook Me All Night Long. I’ve heard them before, I liked them very much but it just takes a while to find your way through this huge pool filled with bands, songs, classics and all those options. At some point I finally found my way to AC/DC and I’m so glad I did.

I bought Back in Black on iTunes and then listened to it for days on end. It has a lot of hits in it, as well as some, in my opinion, underrated songs. Also, I like to believe that it represents AC/DC very well as a whole, including the Bon Scott era, because he too was  involved in the making of that album.

Later on, I bought Highway to Hell and Rock or Bust, but Back in Black is still my favorite for all the reasons mentioned above. I noticed, especially while working on this series, that the first album I ever bought from a band often remains my favorite. Has anyone else made that observation?

.

The first album I ever bought from a band often remains my favorite.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Must-Have Album: Back in Black (1980)

Part 2 of my "11 Bands" series is on my blog now! (link in bio) This time: AC/DC

Ein Beitrag geteilt von System Error (@tamarathesystemerror) am

 .

Top 5 songs to get to know AC/DC:

.

Highway to Hell (Highway to Hell)

Hells Bells (Back in Black)

Rock ‘N’ Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution (Back in Black)

It’s a Long Way to the Top (High Voltage)

Back in Black (Back in Black)

.

.

If you didn’t have the chance yet, you might finally give AC/DC a try, I hope you’ll like them as much as I do and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

More AC/DC:

.

Check out this post Playlist #1 – Election Day 2016 or all of my playlist posts

Follow me on 8tracks for more AC/DC in the future!

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) - Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Check it out!11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 2 – AC/DC (blues rock/hard rock)

Leave a Reply

