11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll – pt.1

Find the other parts here: pt.2 – AC/DC, pt.3 – 5SOS, pt.4 – Iron Maiden, pt.5 – Bon Jovi, pt.6 – Guns N’ Roses, pt.7 – Nirvana, pt.8 – Alice Cooper, pt.9 – 5 Finger Death Punch, pt.10 – Nickelback, pt.11 – The Pretty Reckless

.

The first time I came across rock music, was in my early childhood. My dad had a few CDs that I was obsessed with. I remember stealing his “Queen – Greatest Hits – Golden Edition” so often, he made me a copy (guess he was too addicted himself to let it go).

I was lucky. The awesome world of rock music got exposed to me early in life, not fully yet, but still. Quite often on the internet though, I read about people that want to try out listening to (more) rock/metal music, but they often are completely new to the subject, because these poor souls have dads who aren’t into music at all and moms who are still not over their “Backstreet-Boys-groupie-phase” yet. First time they ever even heard of rock n’ roll was when their middle school best friend brought the “My Chemical Romance” CD to school that they stole from their older brother. If you are one of these people, I’m deeply sorry. Even if your childhood was generally nice, it had a soundtrack that sucked.

.

Where do I start?

Don’t worry, I got you covered. As I said I started selling pieces of my soul early, but it wasn’t a decision of mine, it was fate and their was still a lot to explore on my own as I got older. There is so much to discover when you first enter this “alternative universe” (see what I did there?) and I know it can be super overwhelming.

Where the hell do I start? That might’ve been a question that came to your mind in the beginning. Some bands, practically everyone has at least heard of, like Iron Maiden or Bon Jovi. But when you actually wanna take the step to go check one of them out, the next questions rise: Which songs represent their typical sound? After how many songs is it fair to say whether I like them or not? To get an overall picture of a band or an artist and therefore being able to ultimatly make a decision whether or not they’re worth to be examined further, is fucking hard.

.

What can this 11-part series do for me?

Coming here, was the first step in the right direction. I will do my best to answer all the above questions. This series will provide you with information about some of my favorite artists (hopefully soon also your favorites).

There will be classics (great for beginners), as well as some bands you might have never heard of (great for those who just want to broaden their horizon) and also artists you might not have considered checking out because you have prejudice against them. That’s fine, we all do sometimes, but please, this is for open-minded people. It’s fine to hate something, but don’t mindlessly hate it. At least give it a fair chance.

.

It’s fine to hate something, but don’t mindlessly hate it.

click to tweet

.

So, without further ado (I hate that phrase, let’s be real, when someone says this, there usually was LOTS of ado before that *guilty*), here comes the very first part. Stay tuned if you want to sell your soul, which I highly recommend!

.

.

.

Part 1/11: Sell Your Soul To Jake Bugg

.

SONY DSC

.

The basics

Jake Bugg is a British singer and songwriter born in 1994. His first record Jake Bugg was released in 2012 and was quickly followed by his second album Shangri La in 2013. He actually worked with Rick Rubin for his second record, which I think is pretty cool (BERZERK! comment if you know what I’m talking about). Fortunatly, his third Album On My One finally came out earlier this year.

.

Who should sign up for selling their soul?

He is definitly something for the folk lovers among you. I guess you could also say his music is indie rock, but I also think it has some country influence and especially just a good old rock n’ roll vibe.

Those of you who like Bob Dylan, Oasis, Jimi Hendrix, Johnny Cash, The Beatles or Elvis Presley should definitely check him out. Maybe even the Metallica fans (with a softer side) because Jake Bugg once said they were a huge influence on him when he first picked up the guitar.

.

How I signed the contract & a short review

I actually don’t know how I ended up with his album in my hands, I really can’t remember where I heard of him. But I somehow just ordered Jake Bugg on Amazon and I instantly fell in love with his songs and the lyrics (he’s a really great writer in my opinion). I liked the idea that someone from my generation kinda tries to save the good old rock and roll.

His second album is a little “rougher” than the first one, but even though I’m usually the type to prefer the songs where a lot of electric guitar is involved, his first record is still my favorite.

Finally, his third record… what should I say? It’s different, but rad. I was surprised when I first heard it. While his previous ones sounded like the 50s/60s, this one has more of a psychadelic 70s twist to it.

Also, I’m kinda in love with the fact that he doesn’t like One Direction (just me? ok, sorry, not sorry).

.

Different, but rad.

click to tweet

.

.

.

Must-Have Album: Jake Bugg (2012)

 

Top 5 songs to get to know Jake Bugg:

.

Seen It All (Jake Bugg)

Trouble Town (Jake Bugg)

On My One (On My One)

Slumville Sunrise (Shangri La)

Two Fingers (Jake Bugg)

.

.

Hope you give him a try, follow me on 8tracks to hear more from him in the future and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

.

.

Find more Jake Bugg on some of my Pinterest boards:

.

And on this playlist:

.

11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) - Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Check it out!11 Bands For People Who Want To Sell Their Soul To Rock 'N' Roll (and those who already did) – Blog post/series by SYSTEM ERROR. Part 1 – Jake Bugg (folk/indie rock)

Leave a Reply

