Playlist #1 – Election Day 2016

follow me on 8tracks: tamara_theSE

I woke up this morning at 9 am (4 am EST), looked at my phone and found out that Donald Trump won the election and that this man is now enabled to rule a nation. A LONG string of swear words left my mouth, English as well as German. But none of those words seemed enough to express my feelings about these results. Within the first few minutes of my morning, my mood kept changing constantly. I guess I didn’t know how to feel. I sure as hell didn’t know how to express my emotions. I just turned on the TV and went straight to a channel that would be covering the results and the reactions for the remainder of the day. I barely moved watching it. All this was so unbelievable, so horrible. I didn’t know what else to do.

History repeats itself

I don’t know if you are aware of it, but being German, this day, 11/9, actually means something else to me and my nation. November 9, 1989, the Berlin Wall came down, a wall that separated two parts of the same country.

November 9, 2016, America elects a president that wants to build a wall to seperate people. What are the odds?

I don’t know how to feel about that. It feels like the apocalypse to me, and I think to many of you, it does too. Let me just state my personal opinion: I don’t believe that there is something like gay rights, afro-American people’s rights, women’s rights or whatever. I believe in human rights. Last time I checked, we were all human beings. I think there is nothing more important than for each and every person on this planet to understand that every human deserves the same human rights. Because we are all equal and without differences this world would be fucking boring.

Nuff said.

 

I believe in human rights. Last time I checked, we were all human beings.

click to tweet

 

I woke up this morning and found out that Donald Trump won the election. Well, I think you can guess what my reaction was from the title of this playlist that I had to make to express my feelings. - Stars, Stripes & Swearing - Playlist for the Election Day 2016

.

Ok, I guess we should get to the playlist at some point… I’m the kind of person that needs a playlist for practically every situation and if a situation isn’t what we’ve got here, then I don’t know what is. So, at some point of this day, it hit me: Let’s create a mix that explains what I’m feeling. It’s something I can do, it’s something I like to do and it might help getting over it (not over it yet, let me know when you are). Then my artistic side wanted to join in too… so, the two-faced eagle cover art happened.

I tried to kinda walk you through my day and my mood changes (note the annotations on 8tracks). Some songs I picked with Trump in mind, some with Hillary (notice how I address them? people should think about that). Some of them were chosen because they represent my feelings, some because I think they show what the Americans must feel like who wanted a different president. I tried to find songs with lyrics that could express my emotions better than me (you can probably guess my mood from the title already). Please, don’t take all of it too literally. I just hope this playlist makes some of you feel less alone and a little more hopeful, because music can get you through all times, good and bad.

 

Music can get you through all times, good and bad.

click to tweet

 

 

A Playlist for the Election Day 2016 – Stars, Stripes & Swearing

 

  1. Hells Bells – AC/DC
  2. American Idiot – Green Day
  3. We’re All In Danger – Dangerkids
  4. You’re A Lie – Slash feat. Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators
  5. Scared – Delta Rae
  6. Who You Selling For – The Pretty Reckless
  7. I See Fire – Ed Sheeran
  8. Civil War – Guns N’ Roses
  9. If Everyone Cared – Nickelback (yes, I love Nickelback, deal with it)
  10. Anywhere But Here – Five Finger Death Punch (feat. Maria Brink)
  11. Fucked Up World – The Pretty Reckless
  12. The Hammer’s Coming Down – Nickelback

this playlist on 8tracks: Stars, Stripes & Swearing

 

Hope you enjoyed it, keep your head high and don’t let them put you in a box. \m/

Leave a Reply

